Monday, April 11, 2011

Kiptoo, Jeptoo win Paris marathon

The Paris Marathon turned out to the advantage of Kenya with victories by Benjamin Kiptoo in 2:06:31 and Priscah Jeptoo in 2:22:52.

The IAAF Gold Label Road Race started at 08:45 from the Arc de Triomphe and the pace for the first five kilometres (14:50) was well faster than expected.

The first uphill stretch at Bastille had the effect of slowing down the large leading group composed mainly of African runners.

Kenya lined-up two participants from last year’s race: Alfred Kering and Kiptoo, second and fourth in 2010 respectively, while Ethiopia replaced last year’s winner Tadesse Tola with Zembala Yegeze (seventh last year) and Eshetu Wondimu, the fastest of the field with a 2:06:46 personal best.