Tuesday, February 22, 2011

Mutai confident for WXC

The Standard reports
Winning at the event rated as the toughest cross-country race on the planet brings with it excess baggage of expectation at the subsequent World Cross Country Championships.

Eliud Kipchoge (2004 and 2005), Moses Masai (2006), Gideon Ngatuny (2008), Moses Mosop (2007 and 2009) and Paul Tanui last year have all captured the imagination of the distance running world by topping the senior men 12km race of the IAAF Permit/KCB National Cross Country Championships.

They arrived at the Mombasa, Edinburgh, Amman and Poland World Cross editions with the favourite tag affixed in their luggage only to leave there without the main prize. It took Joseph Ebuya, third place at last year’s event to finally break the decade long race individual gold duck in Poland last year.